Why Folexin Isn’t Vegan Friendly & What Sheep Have Got To Do With It

One thing you need to know about this hair growth boosting supplement is that while it is vegetarian-friendly, it isn’t vegan-friendly. This is because it contains Vitamin D3 – a vitamin that’s typically sourced from sheep’s wool.

Why Non-Vegan Vitamin D3 Is Used in Folexin

Folexin is a hair growth supplement. It is meant to strengthen your hair and restore any weak spots.
Vitamin D3 is commonly produced by sheep and is meant to help keep their wool looking strong healthy even when exposed to drastic weather conditions.

In pretty much the same way, this D-vitamin is used in health and beauty products to protect the skin and hair strands/follicles.

Folexin Bottle and Sheep image relating to the fact that the product contains vitamin D3 from sheep wool

Why Sheep?

Normally, one mature Merino sheep can produce up to 300 ml of a greasy substance that is further processed to produce this vital vitamin (source).

Note that, in rare cases, vegan-friendly Vitamin D3 can be derived from lichen. That, however, rarely happens and almost all products available out there feature lanolin (the sheep type of D3) in their ingredients list.

However, with technology greatly improving, it is probably just a matter of time before lichen-based Vit D3 becomes more feasible.

How Lanolin Is Extracted

Clean wool fleece is run through a process of either solvent extraction or centrifugal separation. This leads to the production of a thick yellowish substance which is further refined and subjected to chromatography.

At this point, you end up with crude cholesterol which is taken through further steps to produce pre-Vitamin D3 (also known as 7-dehydrocholesterol). The last step involves illuminating this substance using ultraviolet rays (like it happens when we expose our skin to sunlight) so you end up with pure Vitamin D3 (source).

Can I Still Use Folexin If I am Vegan?

Vitamin D3 is largely safe and healthy for all humans to use in appropriate doses. However, if you’re a strict vegan and don’t want to compromise on your values in any way, you might want to keep off products like Folexin. It’s not vegan friendly.

However, it’s vegetarian-friendly.

Also, it is worth noting that it is not a must for a sheep to die for wool to be obtained. Sheep get shaved at least once a year anyway and no bloodshed is involved.

Otherwise, all the other ingredients in Folexin are 100% vegan…including the capsules themselves which are made from cellulose instead of gelatin. You can learn more about the product itself here in detail.

James Kerry

James is a skilled researcher, biohacker, and fitness enthusiast with 7+ years of extensive research in the use of nootropics, herbs & earth-grown products.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *